I may not be perfect, but I'm always me.

The Zodiac

Am I a believer in the signs of the zodiac, do I read the horoscopes that are in our daily newspapers, do I believe the tarot cards or physic readers, just how much faith do I put into all this mumbo-jumbo. Well in truth, over the years I would have to say very little, very little indeed. Yes I have read my horoscope in the paper, but only as a way of passing a few minutes on the train, I have never felt I need to do something about it, or do something with the information it has given me, after all those few lines can not relate to the millions each one is meant to talk to.

So maybe that is it, maybe you have to believe first for it to start working for you. In a similar way to cosmic ordering, maybe you have to really clear your mind of the doubt and disbelief and really get in to it in the first place. After all, all this stuff has been around a very long time and copious people really do believe and trust in the signs it sends them. So for me to really try and accept it I firstly really need to try and understand it. So as I am doing that I thought I would share it on my site PaulKavanagh.com, so you can see what I have read and what it is that may one day be the information that changes my view on this subject.

Signs of the Zodiac

Aries March 21 - April 19

Taurus April 20 - May 20

Gemini May 21 - June 20

Cancer June 21 - July 22

Leo July 23 - August 22

Virgo August 23 - September 22

Libra September 23 - October 22

Scorpio October 23 - November 21

Sagittarius November 22 - December 21

Capricorn December 22 - January 19  

Aquarius January 20 - February 18

Pisces February 19 - March 20

If you were born on the first or last day of a Sun sign, in astrological terms you were born on a cusp. If that's the case, you will probably benefit from reading your own Sun sign and the Sun sign that ends or begins right before or after your date of birth. For example, if your birth date is 22 December, your Sun sign is Capricorn, but you probably have some Sagittarian traits as well.

A way of classifying the zodiac signs is according to their so-called quadruplicities or qualities. The three quadruplicities can be seen as different ways of being creative.

Cardinal Signs

The four cardinal signs, Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn, have in common the impetus to initiate or create, or to counter one initiative with another.

Fixed Signs

The four fixed signs, Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius, are inclined to sustain or stabilise what has already been created, or to resist or practise endurance in the face of another's initiative.

Mutable Signs

The four mutable signs, Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces, take what has been created and attempt to alter or adapt it.

Combine the four elements with the three quadruplicities, and we find that each of the zodiac signs has a unique combination of the two. For instance, Taurus alone is fixed earth, Sagittarius alone is mutable fire. These four links will take you to a very brief sketch of the characteristics of each element, and of the differences between each sign of that element on account of the varying quadruplicities. Each page contains links that will take you to more detailed descriptions of each of the zodiac signs, or you can go straight to the ones which interest you using the links above.

The Sun Sign in your Horoscope may not be your most important astrological characteristic!

Zodiac Signs! - Horoscope columns in popular newspapers and magazines might lead you to suspect that the zodiac signs in which the Sun appears in horoscopes is of such over-riding importance that little else matters. The truth is that the zodiac signs in which the Sun appears is assigned much more importance in modern astrology than was the case in ancient times. Then, each planet (the Sun and the Moon being counted amongst the planets) signified a particular area of life as indicated in the individual birth chart. In particular, the planet that rules the ascendant (the zodiac sign rising at birth), and its sign and house position, was seen as having special significance for the individual. I believe this ancient tradition still holds true. Nevertheless there is no doubt that sun signs in horoscopes do have importance (the ancients acknowledged this too), and I offer these thumbnail sketches of the meaning of each. The twelve zodiac signs are divided into four elements: Fire - Aries, Leo and Sagittarius; Earth - Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn; Air - Gemini, Libra and Aquarius; Water - Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces.

Made by Webfactory Bulgaria WF
© 2008 Paul Kavanagh. All rights reserved.